Gluten Free Chocolate Carrot Cake Truffels

This is such a wonderful recipe, I feel like I am adding to humanity just sharing it.

Cake truffels are a bit trendy right now, but they are perfect for a quick dessert that will knock your socks off.  They’re small, they’re portable, you don’t need a fork or an ice cream scoop for them, you can put them on a stick or you can make a truffle mountain, and you can do a million flavors with them..any way you deal with cake truffels, you’re going to win.

I don’t know how this idea came into my head, but I was preparing for some guests to enjoy dinner with us when I thought of how great cake truffels would be for the evening: low maintenance, good food, great results.  And there were a lot of people that were going to be here, and you don’t want to run out of dessert, of all things.  So cake truffels were perfect.

I got out my Betty Crocker gluten free chocolate cake mix, and suddenly I had the crazy idea to transform this into a chocolate carrot cake truffel.

I know.

So here’s the recipe:

1 box Gluten Free Betty Crocker chocolate cake mix

1 stick butter

3 eggs

1 cup water

1 can of cream cheese frosting

1 bag of almond bark or 1 bag white chocolate chips (my preference will always be Ghirardelli chocolate for baking)

Make it!

Combine the cake mix with 3 eggs, 1 stick of softened butter and 1 cup of water.

Then add 2 shredded carrots right into the batter.

Add about 1 Tbsp. of nutmeg and cinnamon (you want these things to have a kick of spice, so more is better)

Bake at 350F for 30 minutes (or however long it says on the box….I threw my box away, so I’m kind of trying to remember how long it was)

Now: Let the cake cool a little bit on the counter, and then throw that sucker into the freezer for 15 minutes.  I have no idea if this is a passable method in culinary school, but it’s what I do in my kitchen.

After the bottom of the dish is cooled, put the cake into a ziplock bag and smash it to pieces.  Gently.  This will feel completely unnatural and wrong, but it’s kind of freeing in an nonconformist way…if you wanted to go down that road.

Add most of a container of cream cheese frosting.  Not the whole thing, but say, 8/10ths of the container; so, most of it.

Now use your very clean hands and work the two together in the bag so it’s evenly mixed without getting squishy or clumpy.

Then take a little teeny handful and roll it together into a ball.  Place this ball onto either a piece of parchment paper or wax paper.  Do this with the whole bag…you should get about +50 balls from this mix, so have someone put a movie on for you or something.

After the balls are done, wash your hands (obviously) and get either almond bark or white chocolate chips.  Put a big handful into a ziplock bag and slowly melt this in the microwave.  So start with 20 seconds and see how it feels, and do increments of 15 seconds to melt it more if you need to.  Then, cut a TINY LITTLE TEENY piece off the bottom corner of the ziplock bag.  Then lift the bag up and squeeze the melted chocolate into swirls or stripes across the truffles.  (stripes are easier, fwiw.)

You can eat them now, but I would suggest putting them in the fridge to fully cool off for about 20 minutes.  It just brings the whole truffle together if it’s a little cooler, and it is A.MAZING.

I’ll have a few more of these recipes when the holidays come around.  Trust me, you will be the belle of the ball with these at Thanksgiving!

One thought on “Gluten Free Chocolate Carrot Cake Truffels

Leave a Reply

