Epic Broccoli Salad

I know I am really pushing some culinary boundaries by introducing a broccoli recipe, but I like living on the edge.

This broccoli salad is so good, my kids love it.  It is so good, I have given it to guests who I love.  This broccoli salad is so good, my husband likes it.  And he isn’t telling me that just because his life depends on it!

It is that good.

This is also a really easy recipe with zero cooking involved, so you can throw this together as fast as your hands can move.

What you’ll need:

  • About 4 cups of broccoli florets (or more, or less, depending on the size of your eating company)
  • 1 can of sliced black olives
  • 1/2 cup of diced cheddar cheese
  • kosher salt, ground pepper, a little parsley
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar

What you’re going to do:

Wash the broccoli and put it in a big bowl.  Pour olive oil over the top of it….this is kind of hard to measure.  I’d say just pour on as much as you would if you were pouring on salad dressing.  If I had to guess, I’d say 1/4 cup.

Sprinkle on 3 fat pinches of kosher salt, grind pepper on top and add 1 fat pinch of parsley, then toss.

Now add the diced cheddar and olives.

Now pour about 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar on top and put it in the fridge to chill a bit.

This is a very easy side dish recipe, and very good for nights when you don’t feel like cooking.  

It is also loaded with great vitamins that can come in super handy during the flu season: 3.5oz of broccoli has 2.82g Protein, Vitamin C 89.2mg (1 orange has 70mg of Vitamin C, for comparison’s sake), Magnesium 21mg, Potassium 316mg.  

One thought on “Epic Broccoli Salad

Leave a Reply

