Mayonnaise

I give a tip of the hat to Alton Brown for this recipe.  

Along with many others, I watched his episode of how to make mayonnaise, and I was just floored how easy and quick it was.  Off to my kitchen I went and made a whole container of mayonnaise.  

 

It was so completely different from the brand name mayonnaise.  I never liked mayonnaise because it had a kind of gelatin texture to it, and I didn’t like the taste.  This, on the other hand, had a zest to it that was unimaginable, and a thick, smooth creamy texture.  It was more of a sauce than a condiment, which is what it was intended for in the first place.

You’ll Need:

  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Gray Poupon mustard
  • 2 pinches sugar
  • 2 teaspoons fresh squeezed lemon or lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 cup oil, safflower or corn (I used safflower)

How To Make This:

In a glass bowl (because a metal bowl is too loud), whisk together egg yolk and mustard, sugar and salt.

Mix the lime/lemon juice and vinegar in a separate bowl then thoroughly whisk half into the yolk mixture.  (I used the whisk accessory on my stick blender, and it worked great)

Start whisking briskly, then start adding the oil a few drops at a time until the liquid seems to thicken and lighten a bit, (which means you’ve got an emulsion on your hands). Now, for this the “few drops at a time” is crucial.  You can’t pour it in, you really do need to incorporate the oil in slowly.  What I did was take one of my kids’ sippy cups and took the stopper out, and filled it with oil.  This produced a perfect stream of oil.  

Once you reach that point you can increase the oil flow to a more constant stream. Once half of the oil is in add the rest of the lemon juice mixture.

Continue whisking until all of the oil is mixed. Leave at room temperature for 1 to 2 hours then refrigerate for up to 1 week.

Eat immediately.  Because it is good.

Bonus:

If you add basil and garlic powder, you have basil garlic mayonnaise.  I used this with deviled eggs, and it was delightful.

One thought on “Mayonnaise

Leave a Reply

