Beef Stew

Okay, there are two ways you could go about this.  First option: you can take a 17 year walk to Mordor to drop the ring into the volcano.   Second option: you could fly an eagle to the volcano, drop the ring in, fly back in time for elevensies.

Take the eagle.  This is why I use a pressure cooker, friends.

So you can either bake the meat slowly for a few hours, or you can put it in the pressure cooker for a few minutes.  Now, I will be honest here: sometimes I bake the meat because that’s the kind of mood I’m in.  But most of the time I really don’t feel like having to remember that I left something in the oven for 2 1/2 hours.  Because there are a total of 14 working feet in my house every day, and a total of 70 fingers.  Things be a movin’ in this house, and I need to budget my brain power wisely.  I’ve forgotten about things in the oven….a few times, we’ll just say.  So the pressure cooker route is much easier for me.  But I don’t want to discount the oven route completely, if you want to go down that path.

Also: I know stew recipes order you to flour your beef and brown them first.  This has always been an unnecessary step to me, so I stopped doing it.  Call me crazy, call me a revolutionary…but do you need to do everything in the original recipe?  Nah. You control your fate, my friend.

Ingredients

  • 1 package of stew beef
  • 1 diced yellow onion
  • 4 or 5 diced russet potatoes
  • 4 large peeled, diced carrots
  • 1 can of beef broth
  • Kosher salt, ground black pepper, garlic powder, green herb (basil, parsley, oregano, maybe sage), paprika
  • Splash of worcestershire sauce

Take The Low Road – Use Your Oven:

  1. Take the stew beef and season it with kosher salt, ground black pepper, paprika, garlic salt and a green herb (oregano, basil, parsley, maybe sage).
  2. Cook at 325F for 2 hours.  This needs a very low temp for a very long time in order to gently cook the meat into beauty.
  3. In a large pot: place your diced potatoes, yellow onion, carrots and seasonings, and coat with some olive oil (maybe 2Tbsp, if I had to measure).
  4. Cook this on medium for about 1/2 hour, or until the potatoes are fully cooked.
  5. Add the stew beef into the pot and add 1/2 cup broth and 1 can of tomato paste (do not substitute this with anything else, like tomato sauce.  You’re going for the texture more than the ingredient with this).  Splash of worcestershire sauce
  6. Stir very gently and let simmer for about 10 minutes.

Eat heartily!

Take The Eagle – Pressure Cooker Directions:

  1. First, add the onion and stew beef to the pressure cooker pot and brown the meat until it’s browned on the outside.
  2. Then, add 1 cup of water, 1 cup of beef broth, put the lid on and cook for 10 minutes on high.
  3. Now, add 1 can of tomato paste, diced potatoes, diced carrots, kosher salt, pepper, garlic powder, green herb, splash of worcestershire sauce  Cook for 6 minutes on high.

Eat heartily my friends.

Leave a Reply

