Not So Hummus

I hate hummus.  You could ask me to try your homemade hummus, and I would.  Because we’re friends, and that’s what friends do: eat terrible food that your friends love.

IMG_4135

But I am in a big need for some new things to eat.  One cannot survive on apple chips, alone. (those are really good, btw)

So I thought I’d try out hummus again.  I was looking at the prices, and I thought to myself: “It would just be cheaper to make it myself.”  So I went to Costco and got a huge thing of chickpeas…because if you’re gonna do it, you have to throw yourself in.  Don’t just toe the water.

I threw everything into a bowl and used my mighty stick blender…and VOILA!  Hummus that tasted AMAZING.

I got on the phone with my vegetarian brother to discuss my victory, and he asked, “Where is the tahini?”

The what?

“Tahini is what makes hummus hummus.”  Which is why I hate hummus, is that one flavor in it.

If you like the idea of hummus, but hate the taste….here is hummus that actually tastes good!  Woo!

What You Need, You Know I Got It:

  • garlic powder
  • 1 can of chickpeas (drained)
  • undrained can of organic stewed tomatoes.
  • fresh or dried parsley, paprika
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 fat grind of black pepper
  • 1 fat pinch of kosher salt
  • quite a bit of olive oil (just have it on hand)

What You’re Going To Do:

  1. Add the drained chickpeas and the can of undrained organic stewed tomatoes.  Use a stick blender on this until it’s pretty creamy.
  2. Add parsley, paprika, lemon juice, black pepper, and salt.
  3. Blend again, and then
  4. Add about 2 Tbsp of olive oil and blend until it’s about as thick as you need it (not too soupy, not too thick, just nice and creamy)

Enjoy this with sliced red bell pepper (my choice), carrots, cucumbers, sliced and roasted corn tortillas (also known as tortilla chips, I think).  

Leave a Reply

