Quick Pickles

I am going to tell you how to make this, and you’re just not going to believe me.

You can have the best pickles in 4 hours.  They are the same crunchy pickles you love…really.  They aren’t soggy, they aren’t warm, they aren’t a funny color.  They are fresh and crisp and amazing.

In 4 hours! Woot!

Prep:

  • Get cucumbers (any are fine. I have used a couple different types, and they’re all wonderful)
  • 1 Tbsp Kosher salt
  • Garlic cloves
  • Ground black pepper
  • Fresh rosemary or fresh basil
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup white distilled vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water

 

How To Assemble:

 

  1. First, you’ll notice I didn’t use dill.  I found through experimenting that I actually hate dill, even though we’re used to “dill pickles.”  I made dill pickles a few times, but then I started experimenting with other herbs, and I personally believe rosemary is the absolute best, because it is a very bold flavor that makes it through the vinegar.  Basil is also very good, but it is going to be a very mild pickle…and I like a pickle that fights back.
  2.  Get a mason jar and put the kosher salt, sugar, pepper, garlic, and rosemary or basil.
  3. Then slice the cucumbers into spears and stuff as many into the mason jar as humanly possible.
  4. Now pour the mason jar 2/3 way with white distilled vinegar. Fill the rest of the jar with purified water.
  5. Screw the top on and shake it like crazy.
  6. Place this beautiful jar in the fridge for at least 4 hours.  Enjoy thoroughly!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Quick Pickles

  1. I am totally trying this. Especially with all the cucumbers I will be getting this summer. 🙂 However, since I like dill, I will try some with dill and then some with rosemary and then maybe tarragon or whatever other spice tickles my fancy.

  2. Honestly, the right way to do pickles is to try everything 🙂 I’d throw some red chilis in there for one batch, or sage, or cilantro…but I say anything goes!

  3. I’m pondering trying some with thyme this is one of my favorite herbs and I love the flavor and I love doing things like this no muss no fuss unlike traditional pickles 🙂

Leave a Reply

