Brilliant Baked Beans

One of my favorite lunches when I was younger was baked beans and sliced hot dogs.  Don’t ask me why…the beans were sweet, the hot dogs were salty.  It was a comfort meal for a kid.

I never really stopped eating this dish in my adulthood; perhaps once a year or so.  Yet, when I was staring at my pressure cooker and trying to figure out, “what else can I do with beans, other than refried pintos,” I remembered: I love baked beans!

It took a while to get the recipe right, but I got it!

You Need:

  • 1 package navy beans
  • 1/2 package of mixed bean soup
  • 1 can organic tomato paste
  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • garlic powder, kosher salt, ground black pepper, parsley,

This is really all you need, but if you wanted to add a little carnivorous flare, you can add either:

  • 5 strips of crumbled bacon
  • 1 1/2 cups diced ham
  • 1 smoked turkey leg

What’chu Gonna Do:

Put all the beans in the pressure cooker with 14 cups of water (or up to the 14 cup line, with the beans in the pot).  Cook on high for 50 minutes.

Then add the onion, tomato paste, brown sugar, vinegar and spices (and carnivorous addition) and then….

then take it out of the pressure cooker!  I know, this is a weird step, but it’s worth it.

Put the beans into a bakeable dish and put it in the oven at 400F for 20 minutes.

I have found this just makes it perfect, softens the onions….and there isn’t enough water in the pressure cooker at this stage to get any pressure in it anyway.  So use the oven briefly at the end.  This will give you time to find the Arrogant Bastard Ale in your fridge before dinner.

/high 5s all around!

Leave a Reply

