Yellow Cake From Scratch

I need to make a yellow cake for a birthday party tomorrow, and I am expecting +20 people to come.  So one box of Betty Crocker yellow cake isn’t going to cut it (I’m not even sure about 2 boxes).  So you know what? I’m making this from scratch and I’m either making a huge cake, or a billion cup cakes.  Haven’t decided yet…

But I needed to write down my recipe so I wouldn’t lose it.  So here it is!

You Need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract, maybe a small splash of almond extract as well
  • 3 eggs

IMG_5503

Now You Need To:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Grease and flour your cake pan (I use PAM or parchment paper and PAM).
  3. Put the flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl.
  4. In a large bowl, cream sugar and shortening until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating completely after each one.
  5. Then add flour mixture alternately with milk, beating just to combine. Finally, stir in vanilla, and then pour batter into the cake pan.
  6. Here is a side note: bake this cake in a water bath – place tin on cookie sheet (or other tin with high sides); fill larger tin with boiling water while baking. This will give you an extremely moist cake.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F  for 40 to 45 minutes.

IMG_5504

Frosting:

I use her recipe: The Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had

Leave a Reply

