Goat Cheese, Bacon and Asparagus Stuffed Mushrooms

I am a huge sucker for goat cheese.  I like the sweeter flavor, I like the creamy texture, I like the savory flavors that come out in dishes.

I also LOVE stuffed mushrooms.

So tonight, I’m going in.

IMG_2320

Ingredients:

  • Bacon
  • Goat Cheese (I used cranberries and goat cheese, because it’s what I had)
  • Thin asparagus
  • Large button mushrooms
  • Olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • garlic powder

How You Work It:

  1. First, cook your bacon.  I would suggest cooking it in the oven at 400 for about 10-15 minutes.
  2. While you are letting the bacon cool, wash your mushrooms and rip the stems out.  Just rip them out with gusto!
  3. Then place the mushrooms, top side down, in a muffin tin (This is so much easier, you don’t even know).
  4. Now, cut 1 inch pieces of the thin asparagus and place them in the mushroom.  I usually place 3 pieces in.
  5. Then crumble up the bacon, and spoon about 1/2 teaspoon of bacon into the mushroom, on top of the asparagus.
  6. Finally, spoon 1 teaspoons worth of goat cheese onto the bacon/asparagus.
  7. Drizzle everything with olive oil, and then sprinkle with a pinch or two of kosher salt and garlic powder
  8. Cook at 400F for 10 minutes
  9. This goes very well with stout!

IMG_2321

Enjoy with steamed asparagus.  

Just place the asparagus in an envelope of aluminum foil

with olive oil, garlic powder and kosher salt and bake for 15 minutes 

Leave a Reply

